Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Can a phone battery give power to another device?

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Rumokiga

Jan 1, 1970
Hi,

Hi I'm a real noob when it comes to electronics, I hope you can help me :)

So my question is, can a phone battery (more specifically a smartphone's) give power to a device that is asking for like 9 V, 4.2 Ah?

(sorry if I did post this thread in the wrong section, I went with the general forum to be safe :))

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Welcome to our forum.

9V? Yes, using a step-up converter.

4.2A? Unlikely. As you step up the voltage from e.g. 3.6V to 9V, you have to increase the current on the input side by the same factor. 9V/3.6V=2.5. Therefore the input currrent will be at least 2.5*4.2A=10.5A. I wouldn't expect any smartphone batttery to be able to deliver this much current. If it does, it will be drained in a few minutes.

By the way: Ah is not a currrent, but a capacity - the correct unit for current is A. If you really mean Ah, then the question makes no sense because from the battery's capacity one cannot simply derive the power requirements of the device.

Christonio

Nov 18, 2014
Umm maybe he could get the amps if he connected multiple batteries in parallel? What do ye think?

R

Rumokiga

Jan 1, 1970
Hi Harald,

Thank you so much for your prompt answer.

I actually think it's Ah, well as I said I'm a real beginner so forgive my ignorance.

In more details, what I need to do is to make a defibrillator that can be powered by the smartphone's battery once plugged in, so I looked into some of the defibrillators that are in the market, like this one: http://www.medical.philips.com/main/products/resuscitation/products/onsite/specifications.wpd and saw that its battery power is of 9 V, 4.2 Ah.

So I was wondering what are the information that I should be looking for if it's not Ah?

Thank you :)

R

Rumokiga

Jan 1, 1970
Umm maybe he could get the amps if he connected multiple batteries in parallel? What do ye think?