Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Can’t find trace to DC jack

Chris1216

Feb 2, 2018
91F2A5AA-75CE-49E1-8F23-4C4D6E0F22ED.jpeg 70D8BCDE-988A-450A-83C1-5F9B600EDC1B.jpeg Hey guys, I’m a total noob at circuit boards and in the process of taking off the old jack which was broken I took off the copper pads.

Now I can’t find a trace to use a hook up wire can anyone help me please I would really appreciate it.

It’s my first time working on a board

It’s for a Samsung monitor

Chris1216

Feb 2, 2018
Oh snap that would not be a job for a beginner I would say lol

I’m only trying to repair this jack so I can learn I have been watching a lot of people on YouTube and I’m intrigued by boards.

Is there way to get to the other layer

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Boards can have multi-layers.

yes but that isn't a concern with this board

Oh snap that would not be a job for a beginner I would say lol

both traces are clearly visible

you have ripped off the top side negative connections
fortunately the bottom side ones are still there

the layers are on either side of the board, not internal to the board

I have marked the positive and negative tracks for either side of the board

bottom side.JPG

top side.JPG

Dave

FuZZ1L0G1C

Mar 25, 2014
Nope. Multi-layered PCB's are resin-epoxied under heat and pressure.
Test resistance / capacitance across visible ground and VCC.
Measure between common ground plane (ADP_GND1 /ADP_GND2 / PANEL_GND) and ADP_VCC1.
No reading means a missing track is buried.
Some reading means maybe, possibly, hopefully the + and - are available.
Thankfully, your photos are very sharp and clear, EGGcelent photography !!
On to the pin-out and polarities:
ADP_VCC1 = positive DC voltage.
GND ((ADP_GND1 / ADP_GND2 / PANEL_GND) = negative.
ADP_GND1 and PANEL_GND are the switched-negative rail of the original socket.
However, looking closely, you can see that these are both connected commonly to the main ground plane.