Connect with us

Calculating voltages help

Discussion in 'Electronics Homework Help' started by Sam Clay, Oct 29, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Sam Clay

Sam Clay

Oct 29, 2014
    Hi,

So I just started a course at uni and there is a fair amount of electronics which I have no background in really. I did a lab the other day where we built the circuit shown in the diagram here. https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8Ni7zBwY_YMaFdKSVhFZU5SR2s/view?usp=sharing

I can't work out why the voltage across where the volt meter is attached is 3.33, and how to prove it mathematically.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Have you covered KVL and KCL? If so, you can use them to determine the voltages at the nodes where the voltmeter is connected (compared to some reference node). What is the difference between them?

If you've not covered that, but understand ohms law and formulas for resistors in series and parallel, you can achieve the same result.

3. Sam Clay

Sam Clay

Oct 29, 2014
    Hi, I haven't covered that yet I'm afraid, but understand Ohm's law and calculating resistance in series and parallel.

4. Laplace

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010
    Sometimes it helps to redraw the circuit in a more familiar orientation.....

Screenshot-36.png
    If you have learned about voltage dividers, now may be the time to divide some voltage!

chopnhack and Arouse1973 like this.
  5. chopnhack

chopnhack

Apr 28, 2014
    @Laplace - That was clever!! - shall we call it commutative property of voltage in parallel :)

Sam, I am still struggling with the math, much to everyone's chagrin around here, but this site might help you understand the calculations behind this circuit.

6. jbelectric777

jbelectric777

Nov 29, 2012