Connect with us

c.b no power up

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by dantheman1972, Jun 29, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. dantheman1972

dantheman1972

May 29, 2013
    i have a Uniden Grant LT mobile c.b. that won't power up. The previous owner hooked up the psu in reverse polarity, and i have identified two blown (actually broke/burned in half ) diodes which i suspect are protection diodes for the very purpose of the original mistake (reverse +/-)

Question>>>what kind of diodes would be used to replace these with? like a 1N4007 power diode or a 1N34A R.F. diode? I'm new at this but a Ham op so i know the general theory but I'm by no means an expert. any help?

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    They're probably rectifier diodes, but...

If they are placed in such a way that they will dissipate lots of power when the power is connected the wrong way, they are designed to blow the fuse.

If they have been destroyed to such an extent that they are open circuit, this implies that a vastly too high value fuse was used (or no fuse at all).

This would result in protection until the diode went open circuit (maybe a second or so) followed by reverse voltage to the device which may have done substantial damage.

If you are exceedingly lucky, the diode may have failed short circuit as the fuse blew and the further damage was done with the power connected the right way around. In this case you would not be reporting the device unable to power up.

The best advice is to provide us with images of both sides of the circuit board, sharp enough that we can read all the writing on the board and components. If necessary, a closeup of the affected area may be useful. Take these pictures perpendicular to the board in indirect light (i.e. shade or under cloud cover) and without the use of a flash.