Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Button Resistors

Manifestsa

Feb 24, 2015
I'm just wondering if anybody can tell me where I would need to solder resistors for them to work with these buttons. These are steering wheel radio control buttons I am attempting to install and in order for the interface to be able to interpret these buttons they must have resistors of different values soldered to them and I am new to this type of thing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

http://i356.photobucket.com/albums/oo6/rbmcfarlane06/20150223_223750.jpg

http://i356.photobucket.com/albums/oo6/rbmcfarlane06/20150223_223807.jpg

http://i356.photobucket.com/albums/oo6/rbmcfarlane06/20150223_223821.jpg

http://i356.photobucket.com/albums/oo6/rbmcfarlane06/20150223_223740.jpg

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
What are you trying to do? Are you trying to get some other circuit to "press" the buttons?

If so, what do you want to use, an arduino perhaps?

Manifestsa

Feb 24, 2015
I just want the signal from the buttons to pass through some resistors if possible.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
I just want the signal from the buttons to pass through some resistors if possible.
Doing this will either degrade the signal if the microcontroller is relying on an analogue return signal to determine what button is pushed, or it will make no difference at all...
A resistor will merely decrease the total current flow in-line with whatever you connect to it, and will create a small voltage drop across itself because of this.

So... we need to know what your doing. Otherwise you can continue to be vague and cut one of the traces on the board. Once cut, you can follow the traces to determine the end-points, and reconnect the end points with a piece of wire with a resistor in the middle.

*Note. your way may end up with a broken device. Have fun :)

Manifestsa

Feb 24, 2015