Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building an electronic foil surf board

billy bob surfer guy

Jul 11, 2017
Hello everyone!
I am making an electronic surf board using a motor and a hydrofoil. I will be attaching the motor to the hydrofoil with a propeller. I am trying to figure out what type of battery would be best for what I am trying to achieve. I would like the surf board to be able to move relatively fast. Does anyone have any suggestions? I appreciate all feedback as I am relatively new to electronic design. Thanks!

Here is the link to the motor I hope to use: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/KZ5...id=90759d0b-9980-4105-bc2d-f2881e43e4a0&tpp=1

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
I'd check the thrust requirement first - seems awful low for what you intend to do.

Then it's a case of compromise! Motor power versus run time versus weight versus recharge time etc etc.

It's almost impossible to decide for you - though modern high power-density batteries (LiPo for example) seem like a probable solution.

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
The Chinese motor uses brushes that will soon wear out or burn out. Modern RC motors are brushless that last forever. I agree that the thrust is too low for it to carry you fast.

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
I agree that the thrust is too low for it to carry you fast.
If the OP's suggestion to use a hydrofoil is true then that motor certainly won't provide the speed required to get lift.
I saw a recent video of a hydrofoil-type board and they were travelling at at least 20kph! Mind you, it looks oh so impressive when it happens! If the vertical blade from foil to board is thin enough it looks like you're travelling OVER the water - there was hardly any wake at all!

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Adding to my previous comment:

That motor is rated at 150watts. If you want to run it for 1 hour you need 150 Watt-hours of battery storage (plus some extra for system 'losses' and redundancies) so for a 1 hour run period you need (say) 200 watt-hours of energy.