Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building a very basic project but need help

Jeffrey Goudreau

Feb 4, 2016
Hey guys. I want to build a really tiny LED light for a project. I need help to understand what kind of materials are available and where to get them.

I want to create a circuit that switches the LED off and on. either a pre determined timed switch or one that has a tiny dip switch to adjust the frequency. Is there something like that in existence? and if so is it thin and small and where would I get something like that?

Also what kind of flexible conductor would you use for this. The application for the LED is being put on a device that will be flat and will often get wet. So I am trying to figure out something that I can insulate the conductor and keep it from getting wet and cut.

Any suggestions would be awesome and appreciated. I am new to the world of electronics. This is a basic application that I hope will work and get me to play more with stuff like this.

Thanks for your time.
Jeff

Colin Mitchell

Aug 31, 2014
All flashing LEDs contain a microcontroller. Just get one and change the timing to flash the LED on and off.

mgrass

Sep 25, 2011
Not really sure what the LED is for, but for a quick and dirty thingy with a flashing LED...there are so many little things that have flashing LED. Lapel pins, Mardi Gras beads, LED Christmas necklaces, LED rings......