Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Brushless motor and ESC

Mohamed410

Aug 28, 2014
hello , it's my first time posting here and i hope i have help

i have a brushless motor with ESC rated as 30 A max

i tried to connect it to a 12V- 125 A power supply but the ESC was burnt

i wonder why did this happen ? i was told that the ESC will take the current it needs from the power supply and there are no problem to connect them together

can anyone explain what happened to me?

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Sometimes I don't know whether to state the obvious because it's remedial information or not. We don't know how much background people have when they ask questions.
1) Brushless motors are DC. An ESC is generally a DC to 3-phase inverter. Did you apply AC or DC to the ESC?
2) I don't THINK you'd need an ESC to drive your 'brushless' motor, unless it had brushes, and could run on DC or AC(?)
2) Was the power supply capable of handling the load? Is it possible the ESC blew because it was trying to draw more current than the power supply could provide?
Just things I wonder about, that you might want to check.

Mohamed410

Aug 28, 2014
Sometimes I don't know whether to state the obvious because it's remedial information or not. We don't know how much background people have when they ask questions.
1) Brushless motors are DC. An ESC is generally a DC to 3-phase inverter. Did you apply AC or DC to the ESC?
2) I don't THINK you'd need an ESC to drive your 'brushless' motor, unless it had brushes, and could run on DC or AC(?)
2) Was the power supply capable of handling the load? Is it possible the ESC blew because it was trying to draw more current than the power supply could provide?

i put links above for the specifications for both the motor and ESC

my friend told me he connected it before with the power supply and it was fine

the power supply gives 12 V which the motor and ESC need but the current rated on the power supply is too high