Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Bridging a laptop volume wheel.

wildscot

Jun 18, 2011
Hi,

I have an old Toshiba Satellite A10 that it's become a bit of a mission to keep alive.

It has a manual volume wheel which has been damaged and I'm pretty sure I can bypass it by soldering across the contacts.

I'm a total novice and would like a little advice from someone more experienced before I start diving in.

The damaged wheel had a disk on the underside that made contact across 5 connectors, these are marked where they join the board as 1 to 5.

Instinct tells me to bridge 1 and 5 to 'fix' the volume at the maximum but this is just a guess. I'm also unsure whether to just join these two or all of them, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.

It's proving impossible to get a photo of the part so I've drawn it and tried to scan the contact from the wheel.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• volume_wheel_screen.jpg
    volume_wheel_screen.jpg
    24.9 KB · Views: 194

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
It not quite possible to tell which contact goes to which ring from the drawing, but I'm sure you can identify which ring they make contact with on the disk.
I've identified the function of each ring (though I can't tell left from right) and you need to bridge Left In to Left Out, and Right In to Right Out. (Two separate bridges.)

Attachments

• volume_wheel_screen.jpg
    volume_wheel_screen.jpg
    33.9 KB · Views: 201

wildscot

Jun 18, 2011
That's brilliant, thanks so much.

Just as well I didn't jump in with both feet and start soldering at random.

You're right, I can work out which contact meets, I've mocked it up on a really distorted picture just in case it's useful to anyone else. I'll post back if it works out.

Thanks again.

Attachments

• volume_wheel_bridged.jpg
    volume_wheel_bridged.jpg
    32.1 KB · Views: 179

wildscot

Jun 18, 2011