Connect with us

BPW34 & Rail to Rail OpAmp

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Ben Halicki, Sep 3, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Ben Halicki

Ben Halicki

Sep 3, 2015
    Hi Guys,

I have limited electronics experience but looking to build a basic light sensor and looking for suggestions on what opamp to use.

I am using a silicon photodiode BPW34, which produces around 200mV in low light. I need a rail to rail opamp that operates from a 5V supply. I want to be able to adjust the gain so at similar light levels I read 5V on the opamp output (when the photodiode is producing 200mV). I want a linear output based on input voltage (not a comparitor).

Hoping someone can suggest a suitable part that is easily obtainable (preferably at somewhere like Jaycar).

Thanks in advance,

Ben.

2. Old Steve

Old Steve

Jul 23, 2015
    Ben, did you find one yet? Offhand, I can't point you directly to one that'll fit the bill and is also available from Jaycar or Altronics, but if you check out RS Components AU, you can select supply type, (single supply), and output type, (rail-to-rail), in the drop-down boxes on the left of the page. :cool:
    N.B. Assuming you're after through-hole, also selecting PDIP in the drop-down boxes will narrow the search results considerably. I get 59 results with those filters.
    Here:-
    http://au.rs-online.com/web/c/semiconductors/amplifiers-comparators/operational-amplifiers/

RS have free (and very fast, I might add) delivery for all online orders these days, so delivery won't cost an arm and a leg. Personally, I try to be a bit decent about that, and order as much stuff as possible in each order. Your chance to stock up. :D

Last edited: Sep 3, 2015
  3. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    Check Microchip. They have a good selection of rail-to-rail opamps that operate at 5V.

Bob

4. Ben Halicki

Ben Halicki

Sep 3, 2015
    Thanks very much Steve and Bob, that has helped me a lot. Appreciate the feedback.