Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Box that opens and closes at set time

Jonathan Lewis

Apr 14, 2017
Hi,

Bit of a random question. How easy would it be to create a box that opens and closes at set times?

I'm a wildlife photographer and have just started working with a pair of little owls. I'd like to create a feeder which would contain bait and open at a set time (dawn) and close at a set time (dusk). It would need to be waterproof as it would be outside.

Even better would be the function to add 2+ days food in different compartments which open on consecutive days, but maybe this would complicate things too much!

Any advice on this would be appreciated.

Thanks!

J

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
Hi Jonathan. Thats easy to do in electronics. What type of mechanical system have you thought of. I would love to help you with this. All I ask is you send me some photos. We love widlife and my family would love to see pictures of owls .
Adam

Jonathan Lewis

Apr 14, 2017
Hi Jonathan. Thats easy to do in electronics. What type of mechanical system have you thought of. I would love to help you with this. All I ask is you send me some photos. We love widlife and my family would love to see pictures of owls .
Adam

Hi Adam. Thanks for your reply. I have no previous experience of anything like this so open to suggestions! It would just need to be a plastic box and the lid would have to pop open to at least 90 degrees and then close again at the end of the shift.

I'd be more than happy to send as many photos as you'd like if you could help with this :)

Cheers, Jonathan

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Couple of rc servos, arduino , real time clock , daylight sensor, battery and a bit of programming.

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
Yep RC servos was what I was thinking also Bluejets. You could put a straight horn on it and drive it to 90 degrees with PWM.
Thanks
Adam

Jonathan Lewis

Apr 14, 2017