Connect with us

Book suggestions

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by chuckd, Jun 28, 2011.

1. chuckd

chuckd

Jun 28, 2011
    I am looking for a book which I can begin to learn how to build a basic TV tuner. I would prefer something that is fairly specific to the subect. Thanks for any of your suggestions.

2. poor mystic

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011
    Hi Chuckd
    Not that I have an answer for your question right off but what experience/knowledge do you have right now? Also, what kind of TV tuner? PAL, NTSC, or some digital protocol?

3. chuckd

chuckd

Jun 28, 2011
    Hello poor mystic,

I am a recent EE grad but have no experience working on TVs. I would like to experiment with building a set top TV tuner as a learning project. I think that it would be a digital protocol. I would like for it to be compatible with a typical coaxial cable TV service and a modern TV.

Thanks for the reply,
    Chuck

4. TBennettcc

TBennettcc

Dec 4, 2010
  5. poor mystic

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011
    Hi Chuckd (and Timothy) :)
    It's not so easy to know what you need here, Chuckd.
    I wonder what you mean by saying you are an EE grad? How long did you study for that qualification, and was the course at a university? Was there any emphasis on research?
    I ask these questions because the level of your own question is not appropriate to the people I know who are fully qualified as Electrical Engineers. Of course it may be that you do have very high level qualifications in a related but not inclusive field, but I cannot imagine what that field could be.

Now as to your question.
    Once upon a time there were just 2 common protocols or formats in which television signals were encoded (PAL and NTSC). By modern standards, these were quite simple encoding systems, which were purely analogue and relied on circuit elements like filters and ramp generators for their function.