Maker Pro
Maker Pro

BJT Amperage Rating Too Low

durkmusic

Oct 9, 2011
I have attached an image of the small circuit I am working. Everything seems to be fine except for the fact that the transistor will burn up!

I am trying to logically control a light bulb rated at 60w/12V/5A roughly. The only problem is the 5A part.

I am currently a student and don't have much knowledge which is why I am seeking the help of others so that I can gain the knowledge to complete this circuit. I suspect that I may need to use a MOSFET but I am not familiar with how to set one up as a switch. I am stuck and am in great need for help :)

Thank you for your time,
Nick

Attachments

• ct1.jpg
    ct1.jpg
    146.5 KB · Views: 244

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
Does it burn in a real-life setup or just in a simulation? If real, what transistor is it, and what is the exact supply voltage?
The transistor seems to have a voltage drop of only 183mV, thus dissipating only 901mW. Is that right?
It has a gain of 92.2 (quite good) and a base-emitter voltage of 994mV, dissipating an extra 53mW there too.
Using a MOSFET instead is a trivial direct drop-in replacement, just choose a logic-level type.

durkmusic

Oct 9, 2011
I tried dropping in several MOSFET Transistors using multisim and I didn't get any positive results. Which one should I use?

The reason why I say it will burn up is because the max current the transistor can handle is less than 5A. Unless you know of any BJTs that can take 5A.

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
There are so many transistors available above that current level that I can't even choose/suggest any, plus I'm not familiar with the Multisim library either..
Is this an exercise only or a verification of a real implementation?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
In that case I can tell you that the real application won't work.

Try a 2N3055 -- but you'll have to provide more base drive.

A Darlington based on whatever you're using now and a 2N3055 may be appropriate.