Connect with us

Big DC Motor Speed Control

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by JohannS, Oct 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Scroll to continue with content
  1. JohannS

JohannS

Oct 15, 2016
    Hello, all!

I will admit straight away that this is out of my field of expertise, but I enjoy challenges and I particularly enjoy building electronics projects. I have some basic experience with making AC-DC converters from scratch, but only at the ~5V level (for a bicycle Dynamo generator to USB phone charger). I am now hoping to accomplish a considerably more advanced task:

I have the following motor:
    DC
    1.5HP
    180V
    7.6A
    1750rpm

It's pretty big and seems to have pretty high voltage and amp demands, but maybe it just seems like that to me (a relative novice).

I am trying to use this motor to rotate a pottery wheel. I plan to use a pulley to gear down the rpm (actual table rotation only needs to be between 0-200rpm). But within that range, I'd like to be able to control it with a foot pedal.

For the record, I tried to find a motor that closely resembled the one used in a high-end commercial pottery wheel. That motor had the following specs:
    DC
    1.5HP
    115V
    12.5A
    2000rpm

The "real" motor (that is, the one designed and used in the professional product) has a higher wattage in the end, but I don't think the different will really matter for this application.

My first instinct (for speed control) is a potentiometer, but I'm just not sure if any commercially available potentiometer can deal with that current (7.6A). Is there something available that I just haven't seen? Will my motor run on a lower current?

Am I going to have any serious problems with the AC/DC conversion using the basic bridge rectifier/capacitor setup? What kind of components would suffice (if any)? Is there another solution?