Connect with us

Beginners Question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Paul Nelthorpe, Aug 7, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Paul Nelthorpe

Paul Nelthorpe

Aug 7, 2013
    Hey all, I'm very new to electronics and I'm still yet to get a grasp on some of the concepts. I purchased the book "Hacking Electronics," And so far it has done a pretty good job at explaining things.

However I can't seem to wrap my head around the current flow of a circuit diagram. When it's a relatively simple diagram such as this one I totally get it
    [​IMG]
    so in something like this, I can easily see that the current flows from the positive end of the battery, around to the switch, through the lightbulb and back into the negative end of the battery.

Now where I get confused is with something like this
    [​IMG]
    or this [​IMG]

I simply don't grasp the concept of the current flowing in multiple directions at once. I know a lot of the symbols on the diagram (Resistors, transistors, capacitors) and I've done a good amount of research into what they actually do, but I feel like that knowledge is totally lost on me when I can't grasp the concept of a circuit diagram that seems to have a current flow which branches out in more than one direction. How do I know which of these wires are positive and which are negative?

I apologize if some of my terminology has you guys rolling on the floor (either laughing or crying) but if anyone can understand where I am having trouble and explain it to me, that would be great, I feel like a simple knowledge of current flow would help me out a great deal.

2. john monks

john monks

Mar 9, 2012
    Perhaps you are confused because you don't fully understand what voltage is and current is. So let us begin.