Connect with us

beginner question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by GT66, Apr 15, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. GT66

GT66

Apr 15, 2010
    Hi All,

Warning: I am an electronics novice. I can solder and identify various components but beyond that I am electronically illiterate. I am trying not to let that stop me in this case. :D

I am trying to repair a digital gauge cluster on a 20 year old Dodge. The clusters use VFDs set up has horizontal bar graphs. Occasionally, one of these displays will "peg" meaning that all the bar elements will light up. Sometimes it will just be pegged all the time and sometimes it will display normally until it reaches a certain number of elements and will then peg. Tapping on the dash will occasionally cause the gauge to behave. Sensors and wiring has been checked out. It is definitely a problem with the cluster.

So, not knowing anything about working on this gauge outside of the car, I thought that creating a bench setup would be best. That way, I can disassemble the boards and sit there with a multi-meter and try to figure out what's happening. To bench test, I need someway to simulate the voltage outputs of the sensors and vary that output in small increments. That has led me to believe I need some sort of variable DC power supply however, most of the ones I run across seem a bit heavy duty for my needs.

I am thinking that using wall wart and adding in a circuit to vary the output voltage would do the trick. Most of the plans for variable PSUs seem to go from 1 volt up and don't really indicate the resolution of adjustment steps. This is where I'm at in the process.