Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Beginner ... ferrite core coil for crystal set

ecollen

Jul 31, 2015
Hi, I’m a beginner, and I would like to know if anyone could please explain to me how to make this ferrite core coil:

www.scitoyscatalog.com/product/FERRITECOIL.html

The core can move independently inside the windings, and there are two windings (4 leads). I think the independent movement of the core is achieved by doing the main winding on paper wound around the core. However the second winding stumps me. Does it have something to do with the ridge that can be seen along the top of the main winding? How long is it? Is it separate from the main winding?

Any assistance and suggestions would be much appreciated.

I need the ferrite core for this little crystal set which I’m planning to build:

http://sci-toys.com/scitoys/scitoys/radio/closeup_two_coil_loop_crystal_radio.jpg

Thank you,
Errol

Old Steve

Jul 23, 2015
I think the separate strip of cardboard is just there as a means of anchoring the wire ends.

Ordinarily, the second winding would be wound over the top of the first, or sometimes beside it. And there would be no direct electrical connection between the coils.
Do you have any instructions, or do you just want to work from the photo?
If from the photo alone, there's no way of knowing how many turns are in either winding.

I'd recommend that, at $3.47, you simply buy a pre-made coil.
Be wary of postage price, though, and double-check before buying, because he lists the weight at 1 pound, ~500g.
Do you have a diode to suit? It needs to be a germanium diode, like a 1N34A.

Last edited:

ecollen

Jul 31, 2015
Hi Old Steve, thank you very much for your reply.

Thanks, the strip of cardboard makes sense.

Would it be okay to put the second winding directly on top of the first with only the enamel of the wire as insulation?