Maker Pro
Maker Pro

BEAM Solar Engine Circuit Help

henrib736

May 25, 2013
Hi Everyone :D,

I am new to electronics, and I'd like some help understanding this simple circuit if you don't mind.

Here's the circuit:
SE_FLED.gif

My understanding of the basic function of this circuit is to charge the capacitor using the solar cell, and when the FLED reaches a certain voltage, it goes on which causes the PNP transistor to conduct which causes the NPN transistor to conduct. Then current from the capacitor flows through the battery until the voltage is low enough for the transistors to go "inactive". That's my basic understanding.

I'm confused with the orientation of the solar panel and the capacitor. If the electrons in the negative side of the solar panel are flowing to the negative side of the capacitor, how would those electrons flow through the FLED in the right direction?

Also, how would the capacitor release its charge if the solar panel is still connected?

Thanks for reading. Any help would be appreciated!

-Henri

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Call the transistor on the left Q1 and the one on the right Q2.

The BE junction and the LED are forward biased.

When the voltage on the capacitor gets high enough to allow current to flow through them, this turns on Q1 a little.

With Q1 turned on a little, Q2 begins to turn on. As it does so, it pulls the base of Q1 more negative, turning it on harder, and hence Q2 is turned on harder.

Because Q2 is turned hard on, current flows through the motor.

When the capacitor is discharged, the transistors turn off and the solar panel starts charging the capacitor up again...

The capacitor releases its energy because the transistors turn on. The solar panel cannot supply power fast enough to keep the capacitor charged. (If it could, the motor would stay turned on.