Connect with us

Battery on a breadboard

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by Kenny_L, Nov 28, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Kenny_L

Kenny_L

Nov 28, 2015
    Hi Everyone,
    I am a newbie to the electronic world so sorry for the stupid question. I have recently bought a breadboard and some electronic components. My questions are the following:

1) I have a 9-V battery which is connected to the +/- rails of the breadboard. Now I connect a very simple series resistors circuit to the rails. My question is why did the voltage across the battery drop when I measured it under the connecting stage? My assumption was that because the battery can only provide 9 volts in total. When we connect it to some resistors, according to the voltage division law, the voltage of the battery will be dragged down. Not sure if i'm on the right track or not

2) The second question is regarding to Arduino Uno board. The same setting as above. When I connected the battery directly to Arduino Uno which is currently not connected to any circuits, the voltage reading on the battery is 7.3V. But when I connected the 5V and Gnd to the +/- rails of the breadboard, the battery reading suddently became 2.8V (which caused Arduino Uno to be off) and the volt drops on the rails of the breadboard (currently still connected to 5V and Gnd of Arduino Uno) was down to some 15mV!
    Thank you for your time

Last edited: Nov 28, 2015
  2. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    hi there
    welcome :)

show us your circuit/construction

3. Kenny_L

Kenny_L

Nov 28, 2015
    Thank you for your response :) Please have a look at the attached files :) Thank you soo much for your time :)
    Sure :) Can you please refer to the attachment :) I have renamed the file name to the description of the step :) Resistor used for Q1 is 100 ohms and Q2 is 10 ohms. The reason why I changed to 10 ohms in Q2 was that under 100 ohms, Uno could still operate. For better observation, I changed to 10 :)