Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Bass Amplifier troubleshooting

RubiconJoe

Oct 7, 2014
Hey all,

I am pretty new to electronics troubleshooting but I believe I can tackle fixing this one. The issue is with a Bass guitar amp, Fender Bassman 200. When powered on all the amp does is buzz from the speaker whether the input jack is plugged into an instrument or not.

First thing I noticed when removing the chassis is the speaker would sometimes pop when touching the chassis itself or any of the components inside; note that the amplifier was not powered on or even plugged in.

Next I tested the power supply voltages. According to the schematic, there is a +57 and -57 volt rail. The positive rail tested low, about +40V. The negative rail tested at -59V. Maybe an issue with one of the filter caps? It is a typical bridge rectifier with two 3300 uF (63V) filter caps on the output.

There is also a +16 and - 16 volt rail, which looked was very close to expected +-16V. I also tested points throughout the circuit where the rails are connected and looks like power is being supplied correctly.

Where should I go from here? Unfortunately I do not have an oscilloscope or signal generator to further small signal testing. I was hoping it was a simple grounding issue or blown cap. No components are visibly damaged and caps all look good.

Thank you for anyone who can help!

Joe

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Hi Joe, sounds like an EARTH issue initially.
Is this amp new to you? Or used by you before with no problem?
Reason I say this is because possible interference from flourescent lights etc can cause this kind of issue.
Is it a similar buzz to when you plug a jack in and touch the terminals?

I would first check all EARTH points and the connections to the jack .

Martin

RubiconJoe

Oct 7, 2014