Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Basic understanding of low pass filter

messy

Jan 12, 2017
hello, I am very new to electronics and im trying to teach myself the basics - im currently looking at a basic stepped tone generator circuit as a means to get going as I need a practical task to learn (im crap at just absorbing theory on its own).

I have made the following circuit https://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-make-the-Atari-Punk-Console/ and it doesnt work but i dont really understand how its supposed to so im going through the components bit by bit as a way of learning.

Im currently looking at capacitor basics and high pass filters make sense to me and I THINK i get low pass filters but ima bit more hazy so just wanted to clarify something.

When a capacitor is put in parallel as per the attached image, is it filtering out high frequency signals because its charging and discharging to "fill" the lows of the ac signal, effectively turning it into dc?

My other question is what purpose does the resistor serve? It seems this component is a must for a low pass filters but why do you need to increase resistance? Is is just to protect the capacitor from too much current? If so wouldn't the need for it depend on the resistance of the rest of the circuit and the power voltage etc?

Attachments

• Low-pass-Filter-1024x324.png
    Low-pass-Filter-1024x324.png
    4.6 KB · Views: 43

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
The circuit you show is a potential divider. If a divider is made from two resistors, the value of the resistors will determine the output voltage.
If the 'bottom' resistor is replaced by a capacitor , then the impedance drops as the frequency rises so the voltage drops. There is significant drop when the capacitor impedance equals the resistor value.
At zero frequency, DC, the capacitor does nothing.

The source resistance will affect the apparent value of R1 and the load will affect the output voltage.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010