Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Basic RF relay switch help wanted

Toddie

Feb 19, 2012
New member here.

I don't know why i did not google "electronics forum" before!
This is awesome!!!

I have never done an electronics project before but I want to make a simple "key finder".
It has to be extremely small though, and inexpensive to construct.

I want to operate the receiver on a button style battery. It will have 3 led lights and some sort of small audible device attached to it.

When the transmitter send a signal I want the receiver to activate the led lights and the audible device twice (just like a key finder) . I would like to have the range be 100 meters but I am flexible on that and just being hopeful.

I found an online electronics store that fabricates the boards for you but they seem like they have more functionality then I need for such a simple task and therefore more expensive. I like them because they are small but they are 9 bucks a piece plus shipping!

Here is what it looks like.

433MHZ_RF_RECEIVER.jpg

This tiny RF Receiver module is great for building your own wireless remote control or wireless link. Remote control that allows to control different devices can be easily implemented with wide range of encoder/decoder chips (such as HOLTEK HT12E + HT12D or MC145026 + MC145027 available in our store) or PIC / AVR microcontrollers. RF Module can also be used for sending data at up to 4.8KB/s.

RF Receiver Specifications:
TTL Compatible Output
Voltage Supply: 5V
Power Consumption: 5mA
Receiving Sensitivity: -103 dB
Max Transfer Rate: 4.8KB/s
Operating Frequency: 433MHz
Dimensions: 30mm x 14mm x 7mm

So basically has anyone else made a similar project and if not want to help and show me where can I get started? Thanks!

-Toddie

OLIVE2222

Oct 2, 2011
Hi Toddie,

Welcome to this forum!
technically you can use such modules to made a key finder.