Jun 7, 2016
Hi,

I'm here and I'm no electronics expert although I'm reasonably handy

I want to create a circuit that includes:
- Four RCA speaker inputs from the back of my car stereo
- A switch, that switches the stereo output between either:
- Four outputs to my car speakers
- One 3.5mm headphone socket

This seems easier enough, but I am very conscious that I don't want to impact on the quality of the sound, and I understand that the outputs from my car stereo would fry my headphones. I'd also prefer that the change over between speakers and headphones occurred automatically when I plug my headphone jack into the socket (similar to most domestic HiFis).

SO if anyone could give me an idea of what I need to buy and a circuit diagram, I would be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.
Angus

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Most systems that do what you want to do, just use the headphone jack itself (they're built to disconnect the main
speaker feed when you insert the headphone plug, using leaf switches).
The main issue, as you observed, is that the headphone connection is after the internal preamp, but before the power amplifier that drives the large speakers.
For us, we'd get into the audio circuit, and wire what we wanted. But you have to have some good electronics experience with that.
What you apparently want to do, is wire this externally from the outside of your audio device.
That'll take a headphone jack and some resistors, maybe some capacitors.
Because I wouldn't want to do it that way, and you are determined not to interfere with audio output quality,
don't you think you should check into buying a well-engineered commercial device to accomplish this? They'd
be properly shielded for quality sound output without inducing outside RF interference.
Consider checking with the manufacturer of your unit, and asking for THEIR recommendation to adding a
headphone interface to their gear. Because sound quality is important, it wouldn't hurt to ask for their advice