Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Audio matrix - one to many

Elvis9000

Mar 16, 2015
hello, I am a novice in electronics with a bit of playing around with arduino etc, more a software developer..

I want to build an audio matrix switcher that can switch 1 input to 1 or more (zone) outputs. I've had a Google around and come across the tea6420 ic but very little about it other than people like me trying to get answers on if it is the right chip for the job.

Other suggestions say use 16 double pole relays but if one $3 chip can do th job, 16 relays seems a bit overkill .. People also saying relays 'click' when switching audio

I'm ok with arduino/wifi/software side but just don't know best way to tackle the audio circuit. I can't seem to find anyone that can confirm the tea6420 can do one to many switching, and not sure if I would need other electronics on each side of the chip to maintain the audio signal/quality? I've never dealt with audio electronics before..

Any feedback very much appreciated!!

Looks like this guy wants to do same thing but no replies .. http://www.edaboard.com/thread281691.html

JWHassler

Dec 22, 2014
You're right.... that datasheet comes tantalizingly close to saying what you want, but doesn't actually say it
Take a look at the TEA6430 datasheet. It's almost the same thing, but with a bit more explanation.

If it will do one-to-many switching ( which seems like its only reason to be) the sample-circuit in the TEA6430 datasheet is all you need, plus a monster array of RCA jacks

Elvis9000

Mar 16, 2015
Haha, thanks. So you think the 6430 might do the job? My thinking would be you'd send it a byte to say map in 1 to out 1, then send it another byte to map in 1 to out 2, thus have in 1 going to both out 1 & 2?

And before changing to another array, then send a reset..? You think that may make sense? I can't see how else you'd get multi-out otherwise as it doesn't look like it can be defined in the byte you send it.