Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Audio Generator vs. Signal Generator...

lclingman

Mar 14, 2017
I'm new to the electronics hobby.

I'm building an AM/FM radio kit I got from Make:. In the instruction manual, during testing the circuits, it references using an "Audio Generator". Is this just another name for a signal generator, or is it something else altogether?

Thanks in advance,

Lyle

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
In a simplistic way, an "audio generator" is a signal generator that is limited to frequencies I'm the audible range. Most signal generators have a frequency range that is much wider.

lclingman

Mar 14, 2017
In a simplistic way, an "audio generator" is a signal generator that is limited to frequencies I'm the audible range. Most signal generators have a frequency range that is much wider.

Thanks for the fast response, Steve!

So I could just use a signal generator set at the appropriate frequency then?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
I can't see why not.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
So I could just use a signal generator set at the appropriate frequency then?

Basically, there are 2 types of signal generators with two very different uses

Audio signal generators that cover the audio frequencies essentially around 10 Hz to around 20 kHz
these can have various modes of output eg sine, square and saw wave outputs
Often these are combined in a package called a function generator and may go up to a few MHz
and have digital modes as well for testing digital / logic circuits

RF ( radio frequency) signal generators often cover the range of around 10 kHz up to many 10's of GHz (microwave frequencies)
my one goes from 10 kHz to 8.4 GHz ... they get pretty expensive as the frequency climbs higher

Audio generators you use to test the audio stages of your AM/FM radio kit, from the detector/demodulator stage to the speaker output