Connect with us

Atmel Chip Programmer

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by GreenGiant, Jan 22, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. GreenGiant

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
    My friend and I want to start building little projects into permanent items, but we dont want to use an Arduino every time that we want to make something. So I want to either get or build a chip programmer that we can insert the chip into or plug the chip into a few pins or something.

Does anyone know off hand if there are some pre-built for Atmel chips in general or would I need to get a specific chip programmer?

Or would you have recommends towards a place where I can find a circuit diagram for one?

We both have 2 Arduino Mega 2560's and I also have an Arduino Leonardo so if we could use the chip off either of those it would probably be easier.

2. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    http://store.atmel.com/PartDetail.aspx?q=p:10500054

I am a PIC guy, so I have no experience with this, but I would highly reccommend getting a cheap programmer from AVR. If they are anything like PIC using any 3rd party one is asking for trouble.

Bob

3. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    You can purchase the Atmel chips. You'll need a programmer for them to put the boot-loaded onto them (which is a good way if you're going to continue using the same code that you prototyped on the Arduino).

There's plenty about. I picked up a Chinese one from eBay for a small number of dollars.

If you do go the Arduino bootloader route, and you're not planning on adding the USB interface chip onto your circuit, then you'll need a programming header (or a socketed chip) on your board (to allow firmware updates). There are some boards which contain just the USB interface chip and headers so you can get very close to emulating the same programming interface. Again, only a few $$$.