Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Atmega 8 Bit Console

chickens1127

Nov 22, 2009
I've always had the dream of building MY own video console.. in fact, I hacked a mouse and designed a kind of wii remote, but it had terribe motion control and never did what you wanted. That was when I was nine. Five and a half years later, I've learned Python and Ruby, know some C++ and a tiny bit of Java. I've messed with microcontrollers before at a club, but not too much. But hell, with a two week spring vacation, and a whole week free, what the hell? If I'm gonna try, I myswell try.
That being said, I'm a programmer first, then an electrician. I have experience with basic electronics(still struggle with the purpose of resistors). I already can see the comments, "Try something simpler". Well I've been doing smaller projects for years and finally want to learn as I go.
I saw this guy- he built an Atmega eight bit console.. he was from Honduras maybe? Nicuragua? Gave me some inspiration.
I don't care TOO much abount sound. Meh. I can live without. What I care about is trying to implement NES style color. Is that possible with Atmega chips? If no, then what kind of chip? Furthermore, I'd like to implement some type of "cartridge".. what's the easiest route? A bunch of free 56 MB USB flash drives? SD cards? Propietary?
I think a controller is simple enough. Two buttons (A and B) and a single toggle joystick(like on present day consoles to control direction.) No need to have the two controllers detachable (I'd like two controllers- like a friend would want to play an 8 bit console nowadays!!)

I'll take all suggestions, but please try to keep them positive. I'm not giving up on my dream and just buying a NES! My goal is to program an 8 bit baseball, hockey, and shooter game. That's all, and I'm happy.

chickens1127

Nov 22, 2009
help please.. spring break starts tomorrow I need a suggestion whether I should stick with Atmega chips, buy an arduino, or a more complex chip.. thanks!

(*steve*)