Connect with us

Arduino LED help

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by gihanasanka, Nov 21, 2018.

  1. gihanasanka

    gihanasanka

    22
    0
    Aug 14, 2012
    Hi
    I would like to know how to run 100 LED bulb from Arduno
    Uno board..
    I wrote program to Arduno Uno for get 5 out put from board.
    it's working properly. when I connect C828 And D400 transistar as driver
    cc't to run 100nos led from each channel. but no action from
    transistor. (Those transistar are new. )


    will I use another method from get it run 100+ led bulb

    please help me

    Thanks again
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2018
  2. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    8,687
    1,691
    Nov 17, 2011
    Show us the schematic of your design (we don't know what C828 or D400 are) and give a bit more information, such as:
    - operating voltage of the 100 LED lamp
    - operating current of the 100 LED lamp
    - types and values of components (indicate on schematic, please)
    - supply voltage sused
     
  3. gihanasanka

    gihanasanka

    22
    0
    Aug 14, 2012
    Pls see the attached picture for circut diagrame
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    8,687
    1,691
    Nov 17, 2011
    You cannot drive a high side switch (transistors to 12 V) from an arduino with a max. output voltage of 5 V.
    You need to use a low side switch:
    upload_2018-11-22_7-8-57.png
    Note that gnd aof the power bank and of the arduino have to be connected for this to work.
     
  5. gihanasanka

    gihanasanka

    22
    0
    Aug 14, 2012
    OK thanks.
    What is the model no of transistor should I use?
     
  6. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    8,687
    1,691
    Nov 17, 2011
    That depends on the current consumption of your LEDs which you still haven't posted despite my request in post #2.
    Any transistor which can carry the required current and has sufficient current gain can be used.
    Or use a logic level MOSFET.
     
  7. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    24,860
    2,571
    Jan 21, 2010
    And in general, LEDs require some form of current limiting (for low power LEDs, typically a resistor).
     
  8. gihanasanka

    gihanasanka

    22
    0
    Aug 14, 2012
    I can't understand. Early I done same led pattern display with PIC microcontroller + C828 & B562 transistor. I never using MOSFET. Now I trying do that Arduno .
     
  9. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    8,687
    1,691
    Nov 17, 2011
    You don't have to use a MOSFET, that was only a suggestion.
     
  10. gihanasanka

    gihanasanka

    22
    0
    Aug 14, 2012
    Thanks for advice .
    Happy to inform to you I connect 2nos of NOT gate with Arduno out put and also connected two GND line together.. It works. but I think D400 is not enough power to my project. I
     
  11. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    8,687
    1,691
    Nov 17, 2011
    We can't help you more if you don't reveal the power consumption of your LEDs, despite my asking in post #2 and #6.
     
  12. gihanasanka

    gihanasanka

    22
    0
    Aug 14, 2012
    Dear Sir.

    Sorry for inconvenience caused this regard.
    my project like this. 90℅ match with this.( I don't know power consumption of this)

    I'm planning

    5mm Red color 60LED bulb
    5mm Blue colour 60 LED bulb
    5mm White colour 60 LED bulb
    5mm Pink colour 60 LED bulb
    5mm Green colour 60 LED bulb
    5mm Yellow colour 120 LED bulb use as this attached picture . power supply will 12V/1A transformar.
     
  13. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    8,687
    1,691
    Nov 17, 2011
    The D400 is good for max. 1 A collector current. I recommend to use it at max. 800 mA, though. Lacking more ata it is up to you to determine whether this is enough for your setup.
     
  14. kellys_eye

    kellys_eye

    4,289
    1,143
    Jun 25, 2010
    60 LEds run at 20mA will consume 1.2A on their own - never mind multiple strings of them.

    Your PSU is vastly under rated.
     
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.