Connect with us

Anyone use this rework station?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by chopnhack, Oct 14, 2016.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. chopnhack

chopnhack

Apr 28, 2014
  2. hevans1944

hevans1944 Hop - AC8NS

Jun 21, 2012
    I made some tips for my Craftsman heat gun to concentrate the hot air into a small but high-velocity stream. A variable air-flow rate, as this cloned Hakko tool has, would be preferable so the parts don't get blown away. This thing looks adequate for the job, but I have no experience using it.

Hakko has a decent reputation for selling serviceable but inexpensive soldering tools. Who knows about this GAOYUE Chinese knock-off? The oversized pencil-grip is a plus I think. My Craftsman heat gun with its pistol grip is more suitable for shrinking tubing around wires than fine SMD un-soldering.

Let's see if someone chimes in with some real experience using the product you found.

chopnhack likes this.
  3. dorke

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
    I 'm using this Saike 8858 digital hot air blower.
    Very pleased with it for SMD and shrink tubing.
    I paid 52$ on Ebay about 2 years ago.

The one you posted looks similar but "all analog control". the price is very good.
    Don't know the build quality,probably worth the "risk".
    There are many Chinese sticker names for similar products "all-analog" ,"all digital",and "half-halfs".

Last edited: Oct 14, 2016
    chopnhack and hevans1944 like this.
  4. Supercap2F

Supercap2F

Mar 22, 2014
    This is pretty much the one I have http://www.ebay.com/itm/858D-SMD-Ho...740874?hash=item3f4cf0104a:g:tRwAAOSwNSxVWYPA. Looks like the one you found but a different color.