Connect with us

Angle sensors + wireless

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by GecinaWa, Sep 25, 2012.

1. GecinaWa

GecinaWa

Sep 25, 2012
    Hey guys! I'm a mechanical engineer and I need to build a small circuit, hope you guys can help shedding some light onto it! :)

All I need is to read the angle from several knobs and send these readings to a computer wirelessly. More than the precise angles, the important thing is detecting whether each knob is closer to a 0°, 90°, 180° or 270° position in real time.

Specific requirements:

- 5 to 12 knobs
    - The knobs must be able to turn indefinitely in any direction.
    - Any kind of information can be send to the computer, as long as it relates to the knobs' possitions.
    - The whole thing (sensors + circuits) has to be as small as possible (preferably fitting inside one's hand).

My humble ideas so far:

I thought of using potentiometers as the sensors, they're small and cheap, but I'm finding it difficult to get a precise reading from them, especially after a few turns.

As for the wireless communication, I'm completely lost. Looked up RF transmitters and other more expensive alternatives and can't figure out what would be more suitable for my application. I need something small and simple.

And finally, I have no idea ho to hook up the sensors to whatever wireless transmitter I'll be using...

Thanks in advance for the help :D

2. CocaCola

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
    Use rotary encoders that is what they are for...

Well 'simple' is arbitrary... You just need to pic a standard and run with it...

A micro would read and measure the knobs and send serial data to the wireless module... And on the other end another micro would receive that information decode it and hand it off to the computer through whatever protocol...

It's not a crazy hard task but it's involved, and if you don't have any micro programming experience or serial communication experience it might be over your head at this time...