Connect with us

Amplifier blows power fuse

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by dataworx, Feb 19, 2016.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. dataworx

dataworx

Feb 19, 2016
    I posted an intro, but in case you missed it, I'm a noob at electronics.

I opened this amplifier (Sansui HT 3000 home theatre job) to check whether it could be repaired. The mains fuse was blown, as per photo below, and knowing that the mains supply here is rather erratic, I suspected that a surge may have caused this. Since the fuse appears to be soldered directly onto the PC board, and not having a suitable replacement immediately available, I soldered a 0.2mm strand of copper wire across the fuse and applied power.

IMG_0567.JPG

The temporary fuse disappeared with a most satisfying pop so I started looking around for the cause. All the components look OK, but I'm not sure if the brownish substance around the capacitors (as per photo) could be the villain. It looks as though it has been purposely applied, but lack the experience and knowledge to test this theory.

IMG_0573.JPG

Is it worth trying to repair this amp, and if so could someone point me in the direction I should be looking?

Attached Files:

2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    The brownish substance could be some kind of glue to fix the capacitors in place as a protection against mechanical shock. However, I think this is rather unlikely, given the erratic structure of the goo.
    Chances are that these are remains from the electrolyte that leaked from one or more of the electrolytic capacitors (2200µF). In that case the respective capacitor will definitely have lost capacity and may have created a short circuit.
    I suggest you de-solder these capacitors and check them for continuity with an Ohmmeter (there should be none). If you have access to a capacitance meter, check the capacity, too.