Connect with us

[Amplifier][13,56 Mhz][ ~ 15 dB] Transistor IRFD110 - does it work?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Anon_SD, Feb 8, 2014.

1. Anon_SD

Anon_SD

Feb 8, 2014
    Hi ppl,

I designed an amplifier on multisim, I get 15 dB gain at 13,56 Mhz,
    I want to connect an antenna at "vout" pin

but I don't know if the transistor is saturated or not, as I don't understand datasheet and i'm not good at all about circuits.
    So I don't know if it will work in real or not..

If some of you have multisim i give you my schematics : https://www.dropbox.com/s/iqp6y4apgylcl9u/IRFD110 15dB circuit.ms13 ,
    for others I took a pic : https://www.dropbox.com/s/0vb4clwpnpf1eeo/ampli.png

Thanks for some help about this problem, but if you found an other issue with your expérience I will listen to you ;)

I forgot tell you that my transistor is IRFD110 like this :
    http://www.vishay.com/docs/91127/sihfd110.pdf

Last edited: Feb 8, 2014
  2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    The IRFD110 is a switching transistor. It is probably not good at amplifying analog signals (I suppose your function generator is set to sine waves). Look at the output signal and watch for distortions.
    Also check the power loss in the transistor. I don't know whether multisim has an option for this. If not, calculate RMS(Ids*Vds), that should give a sufficiently good approximation. Since the package is not designed for additional ccoling mechanisms, you need to keep the power loss small so the transistor can't overheat. The transistor has a thermal resistance Rthja=120 K/W. The max. junction temperature is 175 °C. Assuming an ambient temperature of 30 °C, that leaves 145 ° for the temperature gradient across the package. 130 °/ 120 K/W = 1.08W. This is a bit less than the max. 1.3 W stated in the datasheet and will become worse if ambient temperature rises above 30 °C.

3. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    What does D1 do?