Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Am I barking up the wrong tree?

Frenchy232

Sep 3, 2013
Hello All,

First post...

So my background is many years ago I started life as a computer engineer, I am far from being an expert but am not phased by technology and can get my head around stuff generally.

In more recent times I have started a business with friends and we organise endurance running / multisport events which are growing in popularity.

To help with the logistics overhead and improve the events overall I have started looking at various timing systems on the market.....you can see where this is going :)

To date I have been unable to find a system which meets our requirements exactly although some could be adapted but would be very expensive as a result.

The requirements are;

To be able to time an competitor over a course from start to finish and varying number (max. 10) checkpoints on route.

The competitors would ideally carry a physical device (RFID chip maybe).

The checkpoint reader must be robust and have enough battery power or the ability to hot swap batteries to last say 24 hours.

The checkpoint reader should be able to store read data locally to be downloaded later to a laptop or similar and ideally (nice to have) if it could broadcast in real time via GPRS or similar then great!

Costs need to be sensible but do have a few K to invest but would want to be confident the end product is achievable before we spend to much , so a cheap POC needed.

Interested in peoples thoughts on whether I am being far to ambitious or is this something you guys knock up on a Sunday afternoon or a regular basis :)

All advice / questions welcome.

Thanks,

Frenchy.

hzuiel

Jan 8, 2012