Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Akai GX-365D What's this "DL" in capacitor description?

RDSmith

Feb 10, 2016
IMG_9128 crop 7.jpg Howdy. I'm a rookie for sure trying to maybe get a Akai reel to reel GX-365D I bought in 1971 to function again. I guess I'm going to replace all the electrolytic caps as suggested in lot of posts here and there. I've run across a snag however and could sure use some advice. Two of the cap descriptions in the parts book include a "DL" ... see below. These are the only two caps that have this and I'm wondering if I should be concerned... what is the significance, if any, of the "DL"? Or maybe I shouldn't even replace these? I hope to include a photo. Obviously any help would certainly be appreciated.

R.Smith

33uF 160WV DL tubular
220uF 160wv tubular ( "light discharge" is written on cap - not in description)
10uF 160WV DL tubular

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015

Sir RD Smith . . . . .

http://www.chemi-con.co.jp/e/catalog/pdf/dl-e/dl-sepa-e/dl-summary-e-150701.pdf

I would think that our 2016 vintage of caps would now be equal or superior to those.

Of the two DL caps pointed out :
C104 ( the upper one on the PCB) is just used in a conventional filtering application.

The C103 (bottom one on the board) is used in a more novel application, wherein, it is in series with a relay coil for activating reel braking.

Upon a direction of power to that relay, the series relay coil + the capacitor, takes on an instant heavy charging of the cap and then quickly
tapers off, as charge accumulates within the capacitor initially and then tapers down as the cap charges.
The effect is a short blip of the reel braking activated by the relays contacts action .

Soooooooo . . . . . . that OLD C 103 capacitor, just might no longer be creating that function.

I wonder if they still marketed the USA destined AKAI models as Roberts brands, they certainly did that in 1961.