Connect with us

Advise on industrial system

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by wmitc2375, Nov 10, 2012.

1. wmitc2375

wmitc2375

Nov 10, 2012
    I am a veteran programmer and somewhat familiar with electronics. I have an Arduino microprocessor which supports I2C. I am wanting to build an industrial application which will consist of 5 foot “bars” each having 4 LEDs. I need the ability to daisy-chain these bars out from the microprocessor and control any combination of turning on/off the LEDs on each bar. I am considering using I2C with extender boards http://sjtbits.com/i2c-to-differential-breakout-board/ but need some serious help in understanding if this is a practical design. The LED “bars” will be about 8 feet apart and on my application there will be a total of 24 bars each having 4 LEDS. I am considering using CAT5 wiring and connectors to daisy-chain and hopefully carry enough voltage to drive the system. Thanks for any advise on how to build such a system.

2. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    Suggestion:

Use a 4 bit shift register (serial in, parallel out) for each bar.
    Connect one LED to each parallel output (use a simple transistor LED driver if you need more power that the shift register IC can deliver).
    Make an input connector to the bar having the following connections:
    - Supply Vcc and GND
    - Clock in
    - Data in

Add a couple of bypass capacitors between VCC and GNG: 10µF electrolytic or tantalum plus for each CI on the bar 100nF ceramic very close to each IC.

Add a Schmitt trigger buffer (or 2 Schmitt trigger inverters in series) between Clock in from the input connector and clock in of the shift register IC.
    Add a Schmitt trigger buffer (or 2 Schmitt trigger inverters in series) between Data in from the input connector and data in of the shift register IC.