Connect with us

advice powering a LED installation

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by camilozk, Jan 22, 2021.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. camilozk

    camilozk

    122
    4
    Apr 20, 2014
    Hi!

    I need to power a led installation.

    3298 leds * 60ma = 200A // 12v // 2400W

    I have 4x 12V 60A power supplies for this. (see photo)

    There are 13 different led strips lines, with different amount of led's per line. The idea is to connect them to each power supply so that the power requirement is distributed as even as possible.

    Do you have some feedback on this?
    Should I add a switch-on current limiter? in which case, how do I calculate which one to use?

    thank in advance for the feedback!

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2021
  2. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    10,999
    2,502
    Nov 17, 2011
    You can connect them in any combination as long as each power supply is loaded with max. 60 A or less.
    Where would you add this?
    • Not required on the secondary (LED) side as LEDs do not draw an excessive inrush current (quite different from incandescent lamps).
    • On the primary side? If the power supplies are well designed they have an internal inrush current limiter. If not, what do you intend to use as inrush current limiter?
     
  3. camilozk

    camilozk

    122
    4
    Apr 20, 2014
    The thing is that I already connected this system to a regular 220V 16A (EU) socket, and the circuit breaker tripped. That is the reason I though somehow add a current limiter to the system
     
  4. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    10,999
    2,502
    Nov 17, 2011
    Turn the power supplies on one after another. This will limit inrush current.
     
    Martaine2005 likes this.
  5. camilozk

    camilozk

    122
    4
    Apr 20, 2014
    got that, but the system should be plug and play, so I will not manually turn them on one after the other. Then I would have to add some kind of component that does this for me. Doesnt it then make sense to simply add the current limiter?
     
  6. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    10,999
    2,502
    Nov 17, 2011
    Again, what do you want to use as current limiter?
    There is a risk that with limited current the power supplies won't start up properly.
    Look up mains power sequencer: your problem seems to so ubiquitous in large event setups that such sequencers are offered by many vendors.
     
  7. camilozk

    camilozk

    122
    4
    Apr 20, 2014
  8. Harald Kapp

    Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

    10,999
    2,502
    Nov 17, 2011
    Max load 200 VA. Not suitable for your 2.4 kW setup.
    Even with one limiter for each power supply it needs to be rated for > 750 VA (assuming an efficiency of 80 %& for the power supply).
     
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-