Connect with us

Advice on SMD Soldering

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Supercap2F, Jul 16, 2014.

1. Supercap2F

Supercap2F

Mar 22, 2014
    Hey Everyone!

I have never done any SMD soldering before, but I'm thinking of learning the skill. Is there any special tools that would be good to have? Like special tweezers? Can you share your best techniques for SMD soldering? Like how you hold your components down, how you apply the solder, etc.

Any other general advice on SMD soldering is appreciated. :)

Thanks

Dan

Gryd3 likes this.
  2. Gryd3

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
    Depending on answers, I can see this being a common reference.

Supercap2F likes this.
  3. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Ideally, you need:
    • liquid flux
    • solder paste
    • metal (preferably curved tip) tweezers
    • rework tool or soldering iron with a fine tip.
    There is typically a lot of liquid flux in solder paste, but I find that a little bit extra helps.

Solder paste will save you a hand. You can use normal solder, but holding the iron in one hand, the tweezers in another, and the solder in your remaining hand can be a problem for some.

Ideally with solder paste you use a hot air rework tool, but a fine tipped soldering iron will also work. Just be careful of all the solder wicking up onto the tip!

1. Place paste on the board (a very small amount is needed for hot air). Generally speaking if you cover the entire pad when you apply it with a syringe, you may have applied too much.
    2. place the component onto the solder using tweezers.
    3. Use the tweezers to hold the component down. Don't worry if solder paste squishes off the pad.