Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Advice on LCD display for Picaxe project.

HellasTechn

Apr 14, 2013
Hello friends and have a nice day,

I want to practice interfacing picaxe with LCD dispay i have never done that before and i guess it will not be easy for me.
Can anyone suggest me what display i should use ?

Picaxe manual has info on 16x2 AXE033 SERIAL/I2C LCD.
http://www.picaxe.com/docs/axe033.pdf

I have searched e-bay and found other that look the same to me, like this one :
http://www.ebay.com/itm/IIC-I2C-TWI...065847?hash=item484f1ed477:g:YCcAAOSwdzVXkGt7

Description says it is ( IIC/I2C/TWI/SPI Serial Interface1602 16X2 Character LCD Module Display Blue )

Would it work ? Any suggestions ?

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
From an eletrical point of view it should be easy as pie to connect this LCD to your picaxe.
The question is: will you be able to control it? Every controller has specific commands to control the various functions. You'll need a library suitable for the controller on this LCD - or write your own, it's no wizardry.

Unfortunately the type of controller for this board is not mentioned on the ebay page, so there is no (at least no easy) way to tell what it will take to get the LCD up and running on your picaxe.
As the photo shows this LCD connected to an arduino and this cooperation is also mentioned in the text, chances are that youll be able to find an arduino library which you can adapt for the picaxe. Or maybe even a pic library. You'l know only after you have the module in your hands and can identiy the controller.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
The PCF8574J is a port expander, not an LCD controller. This type of chip gives you additional parallel I/O ports from a serial interface. This chip is used on the LCD to interface the parallel I/O of the LCD controller to a serial port (I²C,...).
At least the LCD you mention in post #4 comes with test code and examples in C++ to download. You may be able to adapt this code to your platform.