Connect with us

Advice needed on auto switch design

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Bongodrummer, Sep 6, 2010.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Bongodrummer

Bongodrummer

Sep 6, 2010
    Hi Guys, I am quite new at this stuff and would really appreciate any views people might have on this design I have been thinking about for an auto switch.
    The auto switch itself is used to aromatically turn on my dust extractor when I use any hand power tools plugged into the auto switch.

I know that most of these use power transformers but I wondered if one that uses a reed switch, activated by a coil which is magnetised when the power tool is turned on might also work? Does this seem workable (drawing attached)?
    [​IMG]

Thanks,
    Bongo
    www.floweringelbow.co.uk

Attached Files:

2. Resqueline

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
    Yes, that seems to me like it'll work. You just have to use a thick enough magnet wire to carry the max current, with enough turns to switch it on with minimum current.
    A heatsink for the rectifier may be neccessary.

3. Bongodrummer

Bongodrummer

Sep 6, 2010
    Hi, thanks for the reply.
    I must admit I posted this on another forum as well :eek:, and there I was told that it would not work with the bridge rectifier in there. I don't really understand why not though. Like you say, as long as the coil was decent sized wire with low resistance... I guess there would be a small voltage drop, and slightly less power going to the tool - but that would probably be negligible - if it would work...

I put it in there because I guessed that the reed switch would be flicking about on and off a lot with a simple coil in the AC live wire.

Reckon a 25A bridge with a small heat sink would suffice?

Bongo
    www.floweringelbow.co.uk

4. Militoy

Militoy

Aug 24, 2010