Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Adding Input to the Amplifier circuit!

fazidurrani

Apr 2, 2017
Hi All,

I am new to Electronics and have some basic understanding. I've a subwoofer with builtin amplifier which has 8 pin din connector to connect to right satellite speaker. Right satellite speaker has RCA input jacks, volume control and power button. Circuit in Right side speaker takes RCA and feed the input to subwoofer amplifier on pin 5 and 6. pin no 7 feeds the amplified output to right speaker.
I've lost satellite speakers and now want to install RCA pins in the subwoofer box. So, i can use subwoofer with any aftermarket speakers. I've technical guide available but need guidance on how to do it?

I don't necessarily need volume functionality. i just want to install female RCA pins in the subwoofer and want to know if i can splice connections directly to pin 5 and 6 or do i need to add additional components. how i will feed the power to the subwoofer main IC?

Here is the link to the manual of circuit design (Both subwoofer and satellite speakers.)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/j7tt82c7sfy2yje/YST-MS50.pdf?dl=0

Alternatively, can i install this in the car? how i can setup the power source from car battery? any help would be much appreciated. thank you

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
How will you get +27.4V and -27.4V (54.8VDC total) from a 12V car battery?
Pin 5 of the 8-pins connector is the +12V output of a 12V regulator that is fed +27.4V in the normal system and the regulator will blow up if you feed +12V from a car battery to its output.
There is also a -12V regulator that will not work from a car battery.

fazidurrani

Apr 2, 2017
Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I didn't look into calculation of voltage, i just noticed that pin 1 and 2 has +12 and -12v respectively which is going to the right speaker. can you please guide me how i can setup the input in subwoofer to work on electrical socket at home.

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016