Maker Pro
Maker Pro

ADC Reading Voltage on PIC16f1847

sideburn

Jun 14, 2013
Hey guys,

I am a total newb when it comes to reading analog inputs so I was hoping to get some help here.

My goal is to monitor the battery level being supplied to my circuit and then send out an alert when the level gets low.

What I've got so far is a POT connected between VSS and RB1 and I am printing out the value through the USART to a terminal app on my laptop.

With a fresh battery at 3.7v, I can turn the 500k POT and get an output ranging from around 8 to 240..When I pull the pin to GND I get a 0 and when I pull it up to VCC I get 255. All seems good so far..

But then when I connect a nearly dead battery (around 3.2 volts) I am getting hte same readings..

Confused... What am I missing here?

Code:
ANSELB  = 0x20; //select RB1 as input (AN11)
while(1){
 ADCON0      = 0x2F; // start ADC watching AN11
 while (ADCON0 == 0x2F);// wait for conversion to complete
 DisplayVolt =  ADRESH; //store ADC input value
 sprintf(outputBuffer, "battery: %d;\r\n", DisplayVolt);
 WriteString(outputBuffer); //result is same regardless of battery level
}

p.erasmus

Jul 18, 2013
In my opinion to get the correct AD conversion result you should read both ADRESL and ADRESH as the AD module returs a 10 bit value and from these 2 register you should make 1 value
10bits number which range between 0 and 1023 to have the number in Voltage you should Convert the ADC bits to Voltage

unsigned int myADC = 0;
myADC = ((ARESH<<8)+ ADRESL);

I did not check how you configured the AD module registers but you should check it

Last edited:

sideburn

Jun 14, 2013
Thanks,

I wanted to do that but didnt know how exactly..

I am now thinking the problem is related to the voltage reference being that same source as the input.

I am experimenting with the fixed voltage reference now (FVR).