Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Activate tiny RELAY by headphone jack?? (PLEASE HELP)

supak111

★ƃuᴉɯǝɥɔs sʎɐʍlɐ★
Apr 29, 2012
Hi everyone, newbie here building an electronic project. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone.

I am trying to make a 3.5mm headphone jack activate a small relay. AC voltage coming out of the headphone jack is very very small, what would be the best way to activate a small relay with the tiny speaker voltage? The relay itself wont have much going through it, 1 watt at 12volt maybe even less then 1 watt. Relay just needs turn ON and then turn OFF few seconds after.

I can't seem to find any cheap relays that will activate at such low AC speaker voltage. Main thing here is to make it cheap, small, and easy. Best would be if I could buy something pretty cheap off the shelf/internet and not have to built it at all because I might need many of them.

Any thoughts or suggestions are welcome. And sorry if its a stupid question but I don't know how to accomplish this.

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010
the question that needs to be answered, does the signal on the jack need to do something other then turn on a relay?

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
This looks impossible without an amplifier and power supply.
What is very small?

Gas central heating boilers use a thermocouple to drive a relay but this is DC.
If you rectify the signal to get DC you will lose voltage in the diodes.
If you need the relay to hold for a time, you will need a capacitor and sufficient power to charge it up.

supak111

★ƃuᴉɯǝɥɔs sʎɐʍlɐ★
Apr 29, 2012
the question that needs to be answered, does the signal on the jack need to do something other then turn on a relay?

No I can play pretty much any sound I want, the sound does NOT need to do anything other then just turn on the relay. I am thinking about using a TRANSISTOR but again I'm kinda of a newbie so exactly if that is possible or not I do not know.

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012