Maker Pro
Maker Pro

absolute noob trying to start

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
ok so i have an idea but am having problems getting schematics. for starters as i am a hobbyist the design is for a 12volt system. i am hoping to get a tri-power system. I want a 12volt deepcycle battery- which will be charged via a solar panel or mains but this will be controlled via a switch, i will use a secondary solar panel/ wind generator and lastly a 12volt transformer running of our 240volt mains powers, am hoping to run this into a transformer which i can use to select voltages in 1.5volts steps up to 12volts so i can run experiments. I think i have bitten of more than i can chew with desigining it but with luck i will be able to have a good setup that will not raise my electricity bill as i experiment.
oh last thing fuses and lights
need fuses for safety and lights so i can see what power source is being used, hopefully a meter to read power output from solar and wind gen, and power meter to see how full the battery is. i was thinking of trial and error on the 12volt systems which is ok, but the switching and 240v-12v systems are a little beyond my capabilities

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
ok

as a start for you to plan your system do a block diagram of the system you want,
do that for each section of the system and then work out where each section interacts with another section... I dont want to do the whole thing for you but here is a starting point :)
eg......

Solar panels ---> regulator/charger ---> 12V Battery Bank ---> Variable Regulator ---> Projects
240VAC - 14V DC Charger ------------------------^

240VAC to 1.5 - 12VDC Variable PSU ---> Projects

etc

Lay it out with boxes drawn around each section of text. Once layed, out then you can start looking at each section and decide on what you need to complete them.
eg. decisions of if you will build or buy a regulator/charger unit to go between the solat panels and the batteries etc etc