Connect with us

A 'trip' switch, looking for anwsers

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Kentos123, Jun 9, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Kentos123

Kentos123

Jun 9, 2013
    I have been getting into the hobby of building small electronics recently and admittidly im not very informed on certain aspects of how circuits are built precisely.

With this in mind, being a rookie, I pose a question.

I am looking for a way to close/open a power circuit to an electromagnet. I need this to be autonomous ( not needing my direct input or control beyond turning the whole thing on ). Basically, I am playing around with magnetic coils, electric motors ( brushless DC) and a few other small projects. I have sifted through many tutorials online and have not come to a satisfactory way to perform, in an automatic way, switching power on and off, although I have recently been looking into IR LED + recievers I am at loss off how to make this a 'trip' switch. Im pretty sure I have either bought the wrong receiver or am lacking the understanding of how to use it.

My general assumption was that it would itself, operate in either a normally open or normally closed state with an IR LED on. However I believe I have missed an important step as im finding out that this type of receiver has a carrier pin, and looking into it more this would be along the lines of something needing a programmed controller board and generally used for remote IR commands ( like a small tv remote or something similar ).

The basic issue i am looking to solve is how to automatically pulse the electromagnet. Perhaps with a way to decrease the intervals between consecutive on states.

2. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    You need to be much more specific.

1. What is the power supply?
    2. What is the resistance of the electromagnet?
    3. How long should the magnet be energised?
    4. What is the time between energising?
    5. Should this automatically cycle on and off?