Connect with us

A hard to resist problem

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Draugr Rekkr, Dec 22, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Draugr Rekkr

Draugr Rekkr

Dec 22, 2015
    [​IMG]

I got some 1/2 watt resistors from a shop called Jaycar here in New Zealand and then I wanted to get a lot more and since I'm a cheap student I didn't want to spent a whole lot of money at Jaycar, I jumped on eBay to get more 1/2 watts for cheaper as I'm sure plenty of people do but when I received them today I found that they were 2x bigger then the ones from Jaycar so I checked the packaging on both the Jaycar resistors and the eBay ones and tho only difference that I could find was that the Jaycar ones were labelled 0.5w and the eBay ones were 1/2w... Correct me if I'm wrong but 0.5 and 1/2 is the same thing right? So why are the eBay resistors bigger? I'll post an image of them side by side too show you what I mean.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 23, 2015
  2. Gryd3

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
    That image does not work...
    In any case, there are different types of resistors which would affect size.
    Wirewound resistors for example. We can tell you which is which when we see...

3. Draugr Rekkr

Draugr Rekkr

Dec 22, 2015
    Fixed I think... Can you see it now?

4. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    Hi There
    welcome to EP :)

yup :)

I would have expected the smaller ones to be 1/4 watt, they look to be the same standard ones I use

Knowing how bad Jaycar are at electronics, I wouldn't be surprised if they were mislabelled
    mine come from a good source in the original packets of 1000, I will check the label and see if
    it states the wattage

The eBay ones you have are obviously a different brand, so maybe they are 1W instead of 1/2 watt
    but let me see what my ones are first before jumping to that conclusion

Dave

5. dorke

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
    Agree,the smaller ones look like 1/4W.