Connect with us

A Digital Counter

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Zedob, May 24, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Zedob

Zedob

May 22, 2012
    Hi,
    I'm a total noob to designing circuits and I hope some of you gurus can help me out before I start smoking everything.
    I'm working on a project for a buddy of mine that requires a digital counter display connected to a photoelectric sensor for counting parts. The display's info is below.

I did some searching and found countless circuits, some simple and some way out of my league. My plan was to use the eye to trigger a reed type relay that would momentarily trigger the up counting (IN+) input. Is this best approach, or are there other ways?

[​IMG]

The display works fine on 9V.

Thanks in advance.

Russ

2. CDRIVE

CDRIVE Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3

May 8, 2012
    It's unfortunate that your counter is triggered (Up/Down) with High side switching. Low side switching is much easier to interface to. Relays are not reliable in this application, as the contacts will bounce. This causes false counts.

Please describe the objects you're counting. This is necessary to intelligently discuss interfacing optical counting. Are you counting when breaking the beam or are you reflecting the source beam off of the object. Be as detailed as you can. Object distance, size, etc.

Last edited: May 25, 2012
  3. Zedob

Zedob

May 22, 2012
    Thanks CD,

Figures, I find a decent counter that seems to work fine and it isn't any good for the app.

He's counting fish actually. Small size that will be flowing through a piece of 1-1/2 PVC pipe. Breaking the beam seems most logical.

Thanks

Russ

4. CDRIVE

May 8, 2012
    Very few things are absolutely impossible but many things are impractical. I don't think your counter is in either category. I think we can do this! I'll post a concept.

5. CDRIVE

May 8, 2012