Maker Pro
Maker Pro

9V DC Motor Stutter

yagizgg

Oct 27, 2020
Hello, a newbie here
I salvaged a DC motor from a RC car and wanted to repurpose it by hot glueing it into a pipe and mounting a dust broom into its shaft. Motor runs fine on 9 volt battery but as most of the 9 volt batteries, its voltage starts to gradually drop after 10 seconds all the way to being unable to turn the motor. Tried running it with 4 batteries in parralel with 6 volts. Voltage doesnt drop but not as stong as I'd like it to be and there is not enough clearence to have 6 batteries let alone 4. So I went ahead and bought 9 volt 1 amp adapter to run it directly through the wall. Runs ideally when unmounted but when ı mount something on its shaft it turns fast for a second then comes to a complete halt and turns for what ı assume to be 10 degree, every second. If any Electric savy can help, I would be eternally grateful because it kind of became an honorary matter.
Motor in question is labelled "RC-280SA"
Thank you all in advance.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
"RC-280SA"
That is insufficient information as the motor comes with this label for several nominal voltages:
  • RC-280SA 2865 for 6 V
  • RC-280SA 2485 also 6 V
  • RC-280SA 20120 for 9 V
Assuming your's is the 9 V version, then this motor draws 0.76 A at maximum efficiency but can draw up to 4.1 A when stalled (datasheet). I assume in your setup (mounted into the pipe with the broom attached the motor draws over 1 A. Can you verify/measure the current with an ammeter or multimeter? If I am right, then the power supply will be overloaded. It then will thermally overload (overheat) and shut down. After cooling a bit (that's where your 10 seconds come into play) the power supply restarts, the motor starts turning but as the starting current is also over 1 A, the power supply immediately shuts down again.

I guess you'll need a way more powerful power supply, something that can output 9 V at 4 A or more (9 V/5 A would be a good choice).