Connect with us

(90-660) volt into (0-277) volt power supply

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by Henri_deleted, Jun 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Scroll to continue with content
  1. Henri_deleted

    Henri_deleted

    8
    0
    Jun 5, 2014
    Hi folks!

    I would like to know what electronic devices and how I should use to control the voltages between 90 and 660 in order to get between 0-277 (pure SIN)?

    What do you think?[​IMG]
     
  2. BobK

    BobK

    7,682
    1,686
    Jan 5, 2010
    If you have to ask, you should not be doing this.

    Bob
     
    Supercap2F and KrisBlueNZ like this.
  3. Henri_deleted

    Henri_deleted

    8
    0
    Jun 5, 2014
    And what is the reason for this?!
     
  4. KrisBlueNZ

    KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

    8,393
    1,270
    Nov 28, 2011
    zap.jpg
     
  5. Henri_deleted

    Henri_deleted

    8
    0
    Jun 5, 2014
    You are so intelligent dude!
     
  6. BobK

    BobK

    7,682
    1,686
    Jan 5, 2010
    Yep, that is why he is still alive after doing a lot of work with electronics. Your question indicates that you might not be so lucky.

    Bob
     
    KrisBlueNZ likes this.
  7. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,419
    2,790
    Jan 21, 2010
    The first electronic device you should employ is an engineer.

    He would tell you that your specification is incomplete and would request details.

    Firstly, he would want to know:
    • The input frequency
    • The output frequency
    • The nature of the input voltage (is this an RMS value?
    • The nature of the output voltage (Is this an RMS value?)
    • The maximum output current (or possibly power)
    • The source of the input power
    He would also probably want to know the answer to the question "Why?" because that might prompt other questions, or suggest answers to some of the above.

    Then he would warn you that:
    • The configuration you show is unlikely to be practical, and possibly not even feasible
    • Requiring an output voltage that could be both above and below a wide range of input voltages might entail double conversion
    Then he would sit back and wait for you to answer all his questions before being able to do any more (and that "any more" might be "ask another round of questions").
     
  8. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,419
    2,790
    Jan 21, 2010
    Oh, and for advice on pure sin, I think that's in another realm of "expertise".
     
  9. BobK

    BobK

    7,682
    1,686
    Jan 5, 2010
    Yes, mostly found in Las Vegas.

    Bob
     
  10. Henri_deleted

    Henri_deleted

    8
    0
    Jun 5, 2014

    The details:

    - input and output Frequency == 60 HZ
    - input and output Voltage: RMS
    - Max output current = max of 75 MA
    - The source of the input power: step-down transformer from power plants!
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2014
  11. (*steve*)

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    25,419
    2,790
    Jan 21, 2010
    75 MEGA AMPS!!!!! (I'll assume you meant mA (milli-amps).

    So why does the transformer have a variable output from 90 to 660 volts? Surely your mains power is consistent?

    And what are you powering?
     
  12. Henri_deleted

    Henri_deleted

    8
    0
    Jun 5, 2014
    Yes Steve. That's mili amp. I am not sure if I understood your point well. But, you mean why not using a transformer? Well, it is possible but I need a self-adjuster device to work in a wide range. As for the power consistency, what do you mean by "main power"?!
     
  13. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,674
    1,892
    Sep 5, 2009

    you haven't really given enough clear info on what you are trying to do

    firstly ... what is the source of the 90-660VAC ?
    and why would it be changing from 90 - 660?
    secondly ... what is being powered by the 0-277 VAC output of the transformer ?

    Dave
     
  14. Henri_deleted

    Henri_deleted

    8
    0
    Jun 5, 2014
    Dave!

    the source of 90 to 660 volt AC is power from the network which goes to each unit of the building. (This power supply will be supposed as part of an electricity meter)
    Because, the AC/DC converter that we have on the board accepts the voltages upto 277 volt max.

    I am not sure if I understand your second question but this 0-277 should be converted to DC so the input of the converter is 0-277 volt AC.

    Hope this helps!
     
  15. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,674
    1,892
    Sep 5, 2009
    neither of those responses make sense ???

    what network ?


    that really doesn't make sense ??

    Dave
     
  16. Henri_deleted

    Henri_deleted

    8
    0
    Jun 5, 2014
    What do you mean Dave?
     
  17. davenn

    davenn Moderator

    13,674
    1,892
    Sep 5, 2009
    Im closing this thread
    you obviously have no idea what you are doing 'as you were told earlier by some one else GET AN ELECTRICAL ENGINEER
    Some one trained and skilled in dealing with mains power situations

    regards
    Dave
     
    (*steve*) likes this.
Ask a Question
Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?
You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Electronics Point Logo
Continue to site
Quote of the day

-