Maker Pro
Maker Pro

6v relay problem

barathbushan

Sep 26, 2009
hi i am new to relays , i have this relay which i want to drive using a transistor , whose base is connected to the output of 555 timer , timed at 1 second , the emitter is grounded directly , and the relay is connected between 5v supply and the collector , with a diode connected to dissipate the counter emf of the coil , the above circuit i mentioned is not working , i hear clicks of the relay but still is not working , i changed the relay , it was still of no use .

what could be the problem , can it be the 5 volts supplied to a 6v coil ??

also please tell me the maximum and minimum values can a relay rated at 6v can take .

Thanks !!

Last edited:

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010
Let's assume you are using a Panasonic HC relay. Go to the Panasonic relay page at http://pewa.panasonic.com/components/relays/power-relays/general-purpose-power-relays/ and download the HC catalog: http://pewa.panasonic.com/assets/pcsd/catalog/hc-catalog.pdf

Find the HC relay data for the 6 VDC nominal coil voltage on page 3 where it states that initial pick-up occurs at 80% of nominal voltage with a maximum rated voltage at 110% of nominal.

But my question is: If the relay clicks, how can you tell that it is not working?

barathbushan

Sep 26, 2009
dm4p3m.jpg

i mean it clicks spontaneously , not when switched by the transistor , the relay works properly if when connected connected and disconnected from battery [manual switching] , but it cannot be
switched by a regular npn , like i have shown in the circuit . also the relay that am using is a 6 volt
goodsky rw-sh-106d relay .

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Without a base resistor, you have probably toasted the base-emitter junction

barathbushan

Sep 26, 2009
well , i have not used any base resistor for the first transistor which drives led's , and it works fine , but why should i use the resistor for the second trransistor ??

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010