Maker Pro
Maker Pro

6.5 minute speech timer, Please help

Sleeve

Oct 23, 2012
Hello everyone, I am a complete newbie to this sort of thing, so please bare with me.
I am in a spokesman's club and have been given the project of building a coloured light timing device using red, yellow, and green leds. The lights can all be lit at the same time with each one going off at a set time, or each light can be lit up in succession like a traffic light. The green light would stay on for approx. 3 min, then the yellow for 1.5 min then the red for 1 min. etc. I would prefer the latter method. I have done some research, and have come to the conclusion that I will need 1 or more 555 timers, resistors & capacitors of various sizes. What I am not to certain of however, is if I will need a 4017 counter or not, and what types of resistors/capacitors I will need to achieve the 6.5 minutes I need. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
If all LEDs are allowed to be on at the same tiem, you can make a simple circuit using 3*555 timers in a monoflop configuration (link). Connect the LEDs via a series resistor from the output of the monoflop to ground (0V). See the Section on LEDs in this forum for details about the series resistor.
Set the first monoflop to 3 minutes
Set the second monoflop to 4.5 minutes
Set the third monoflop to 5.5 minutes

Connect the trigger pushbutton to all three monoflops. When pressing the pushbutton all Monoflops will be started and all LEDs are on. After 3 minutes the LED (green) connected to the first monoflop will turn off. After an additikonal 1.5 minues the LED connected to the second monoflop (yellow) will turn off. And so on.

Alternatively, if you don't want all LEDs on simultaneously you can modify the circuit as follows:
Build a first monoflop using the pushbutton for trigger. Connect the red LED to this monoflop and set the time to 3 minutes.